Media Club 
of Ottawa

Celebrating 101 Years
Founded in 1916 as the Ottawa Women's Press Club,
 joining the Canadian Women's Press Club four years later,
the Media Club of Ottawa presents monthly programs of significance
 to professionals in all branches of the communications field. 
Our program offers a stimulating variety of speakers, 
workshops and social events

Monthly meetings take place  at Ottawa City Hall,
Billings Room
, 110 Laurier Ave West
on the second-last Tuesday of the month 
December 2017
The Galley  Books by members About Awards Members News

Media Club of Ottawa
 Executive  2015-2016
President,  June Coxon
Secretary-Treasurer.Iris ten Holder
Board of Directors: June Coxon,  Iris ten Holder, Janet Webb, Helen Bednarek Van Eyk
Are you a writer, a journalist, a reporter for other media, TV, Radio? The Media Club of Ottawa is looking for new members and for volunteers to fill several key positions
Membership Fee is $60

Membership Application
Membership Application


December 2, 2017
Lunch at the Lord Elgin Hotel and silent auction fundraiser.

January 24, 2018
Special Noon Presentation

February 2018

at Algonquin College
20 March 2018
at Ottawa City Hall

 24 April 2018
at Ottawa City Hall

29 May 2018

at Ottawa City Hall

June 2018

Program suggestions for next year are welcome


Quick Links



In the News - Jan-Apr

In the News - Apr-Dec

Members' News

Meeting Reports



 Meetings held in previous years:

The highlighted links below will show a list of speakers for the year 


to be resumed as soon as possible.
web savvy volunteer welcome. For more information email the webmaster.

Award Programs

The Margaret Graham Award
is awarded yearly in November to students at Algonquin College and Carleton University

 Recipients for 2017 were:Amelia Buchanan of Algonquin College and Rachel Lindgren of Caeleton University

The Melba Lent Woelflé Award
is awarded yearly in June to a journalism student with excellent writing skill at Algonquin College.
 Recipient for 2017 was Michael Clarke.


to our mailing list

Next Event-
You are cordially invited to

Media Club of Ottawa Christmas Social brunch/luncheon!

When: Saturday, December 2nd, 2017
Where: Lord Elgin Hotel, 
Grill 41

100 Elgin St. Ottawa

(613) 235-3333

Time:  10:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.   

Choice of brunch buffet or lunch

Breakfast buffet includes coffee, tea, juice, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, homefries, oatmeal, pancakes, french toast, pastries, yogurts, cereals, fruit, smoked salmon and deli meats.


Christmas turkey lunch special includes oven roasted turkey served with stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables.


There will be a Silent auction fundraiser for the Melba Lent Woelflé Award

Please bring a small item for the auction

Door prize

One-year free membership draw

Kindly RSVP 

613-521-4855 or 613 727-7237

by November 30


Additional information:

The first time the Margaret Graham Award was presented by the then Ottawa Branch of the CWPC was in 1976. It was awarded for the best feature story written by a male or female reporter with less than three year's experience who was employed by an Ottawa area daily or weekly newspaper. Lynda Florence won for a story she wrote for the Kingston News.

The Margaret Graham Award was formally established in 1977.  Initially the Club gave annual cash awards to a journalism student from Carleton University and a print journalism student attending Algonquin College. In 1992 the award was broadened to include a University of Ottawa communications student. The students who receive awards are selected by their school for their academic success and overall excellence.


Past Events

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Margaret Graham Awards Presentation 

Rebecca Atkinson from Algonquin College

Guest Speaker David Mulholland discussed his latest book

Chaudière Falls

Tuesday October 24, 2017

The Health of Ethnic Media
Panel discussion

  • Czeslaw Piasta, editor, online newspaper Komunikaty Ottawskie
  • Myka Burk, host/producer award-winning/Peabody nominated German show on CHIN radio, and feature writer, Ottawa Life magazine
  • Jagjeet Sharma, co-host of Asian Sounds, CKCU radio; and
  • Waclaw Kujbida, producer of the Rogers television program, Polish Review.

Tuesday September 19, 2017

Teejeshwara Sharma

Tejeshwar "TJ" Sharma,  Senior Advisor at Indigenous and Northern Affairs (INAC) Discussed Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) and Right to Know Week.


For detailed reports
The Galley

Help build the Media Club's "Melba Lent Woelflé Scholarship Fund."
To contribute,  e-mail Valerie Knowles

To add, change, or remove anything from this site, you may send your request HERE.

    Powered by 10dollar domains Canada